A scenario consists of your loaded data and possibly one or more modifications to that data. You can make these modifications to be able to see the impact on the inventory levels. You could e.g. increase the desired service level to see how much your safety stock levels will increase. On this first page of phase 2, you can modify the service levels per segment or per individual customer/location/product.
Service Level per Segment¶
The first table shows the service level per segment. If you modify the percentage for one of the segments in this ABC-XYZ table, the percentage is applied (overwritten) to all products that are included in that segment.
The second table shows to which segment a certain customer/location/product combination belongs. This data is based on which products are included in which segments.
In the widget action menu of the second table, you can switch between the segments data and the service level data. Select Show Service Levels to see the service levels for the individual customer/location/product combinations. You can modify these percentages for the individual combinations. Please note that when you change the service level per segment (in the first table), you overwrite your modifications on the individual combinations.
The Additional Selectors widget is only visible when you have multiple demand types. This means, that if you do not see this widget, your configuration indicates that there is just one type of demand. In case you have both historical and forecasted demand, you can select which demand type you want to use for the scenario that you are creating. Furthermore, if you use Demand Forecasting output, you can also select the number of periods (3, 6 or 12) that you want to consider for determining the average demand (either historical or forecasted). When you change these additional selectors, you can directly see the effect on your inventory values by checking the KPIs.
On the Product Filter panel (at the right), you can select for which products you want to see the data. Products can be grouped in two ways: by segments or by product groups (if you allow product grouping in your configuration). Therefore, the Product Filter contains a multiselect widget for both segments and product( group)s.
- If you unselect an individual product, that product is no longer displayed in the data widgets. If you select it, the corresponding data is visible again.
- If you select/unselect a segment, the products in this segment are also selected/unselected.
- If you select/unselect a product group, the products in this group are also selected/unselected.
- As soon as all products in a segment/product group are selected, the checkbox in front of this segment or product group is checked. When there are one or more items in the segment/product group that are not selected, then the checkbox for the segment/group is unchecked. This allows you to easily see whether all items in the segment/product group are selected or not.
The switches on the filter panel can be used to hide segments/products that are not related to the selected products/segments (so based on the selection in the other multi select widget).
On the Customer Filter (at the right), you can select for which customers/locations you want to see the data. If you have customer and/or location grouping in your data (when you allow this in your configuration), you can also select these groups in the two multiselect widgets.
- If you unselect an individual customer or location, that customer/location is no longer displayed in the data widgets. If you select it, the corresponding data is visible again.
- If you select/unselect a customer/location group, the customers/locations in this group are also selected/unselected.
- As soon as a location that is related to a customer, is selected, the corresponding customer is also selected.
- As soon as a customer that is related to a location, is selected, the corresponding location is also selected.
- As soon as all locations that are related to a customer, are unselected, the corresponding customer is also unselected.
- As soon as all customers that are related to a location, are unselected, the corresponding location is also unselected.
- As soon as all customers/locations in a group are selected, the group is selected as well.
The switches on the filter panel can be used to hide customers/locations that are not related to the selected locations/customers (so based on the selection in the other multi select widget).
In the second phase of the workflow, the status bar includes information on the active scenario. Initially, it says “(Untitled)”, as you have not saved a scenario yet.
Once you have saved a scenario, it shows the name of the current scenario. When you then modify any input data, “(Modified)” and a pencil icon will appear to indicate that you have changes that are not yet saved in a scenario.
You can save a scenario in two ways.
- You can click on Scenario in the status bar.
- You can click on Save Scenario in the page action menu
The Save Scenario dialog will pop up. Here you can see an overview of the already created scenarios (if any) and you can provide a name and a description for your scenario. If you want others to see your scenario as well, you can make the scenario visible to everyone (within your environment) by switching the Scenario visible to everyone switch. When pressing OK, your scenario is saved and in all 3 ways, you will automatically be directed to Phase 3: Compare Scenarios. Of course, you can go back to phase 2: Create Scenario, to create another scenario.
Please note that you cannot overwrite a scenario, so first make all the required modifications before saving your scenario. A scenario consists of service level data and resource product data, so you might want to check/modify the data on the Resource Product Data page in phase 2 as well.
You can load a previously saved scenario in two ways as well.
- You can click on Scenario in the status bar.
- You can click on Load Scenario in the page action menu
If you have not saved your changes in a scenario yet, you will be asked whether you want to save your changes in a scenario. If you’re done, or if you don’t want to save your changes, the Load Scenario dialog will pop up. Here you can select a scenario. There are two switches:
- All from current configuration - Turn this switch on to see all scenarios that were saved with the currently active configuration. Please note that they can be created with a different dataset than your currently loaded dataset.
- All from all configurations - Turn this switch on to see all scenarios that were saved with Inventory Planning. Please note that they can be created with different configuration and dataset than your currently loaded configuration and dataset.
Click on Load to confirm your choice. When loading a scenario that was created with a different configuration/dataset, the corresponding configuration/dataset is loaded as well.
If you want to delete scenarios because you no longer want to use them, go to the Load Scenario dialog. Here you can select scenarios for deletion by checking the checkbox in the Mark for Deletion column. After that, you can use the Delete Selected item action (right mouse menu) to delete the selected scenarios.
When you’ve modified all the service levels for the scenario that you are creating, you can go to the next step in phase 2: Resource Product Data.